Skip to content

Saying Goodbye to Attachments

Mayo 11, 2012

One of the most important lessons in this life for me is about learning to release my attachments.

What do I mean?

Well, before I continue, you’re probably wondering: what are attachments?

They are people, situations, stories, things, emotions, memories and thoughts that we cling to or hold on to, somehow believing that these define us and shape our lives. We can be attached to our anger, to our idealism, to people we love (although this might be a misnomer because love and freedom are intimately linked), to our work, to places and possessions. To put it simply, it’s anything that keeps us earth-bound. Whatever it is on earth, in our lives, be it tangible or intangible that we are holding on to are attachments. On a feeling level, it’s a tightness, a coil or leash that binds us to things that mean something to us, or in fact those that give us a sense of value. There’s a desperation and underneath there’s a tremendous amount of fear.

In my life, I’ve held on to disempowerment since I was a child, reinforcing patterns of abuse and retaliation (or rebellion). I’ve held on to my stories of being unworthy, unlovable, ugly, less than everyone else (comparing my self, my life and my truth to others), doubting my capacities, talents, skills, wisdom and overall existence. I’ve been attached to people who treated me badly, and held on to guilt for having wronged others: a vicious cycle. I walked around entertaining worries and doubts in my head, closed my heart out of fear and kept memories of pain in my body. I have lived my life expecting the worst that could happen and experiencing them happening because well, I expected them to.

Courage has led me to face all my fears. Love has shown me the way out of fear. Compassion has given me the gift of release. Slowly, I shed all my attachments, letting them fall one at a time, like leaves in Autumn. Last month, I knew there were still fragments remaining. This week, I felt those fragments peel off as well.

Today, it’s time to say goodbye. For only in endings shall beginnings arise. As I release all attachments in my life, I walk on my path lighter, brighter, clearer. I meet life anew, always with fresh eyes. Most importantly, with pure trust and pure love, for self and for others.

Listen, trust, allow. My mantra has now become my practice.

Gratitude, love and appreciation for life and for the powers that be.

2 mga puna leave one →
  1. Mayo 11, 2012 7:49 hapon

    Wow! I shall expect this enlightened perspective in your subsequent blogs. Should I?

    • consciouspinay permalink*
      Mayo 11, 2012 7:57 hapon

      hopefully. 😉

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

